What is the Eligibility Criteria for Appearing in the CA Exam

A Chartered Accountant must undergo extensive training and satisfy certain qualifying requirements. The eligibility requirements for taking the CA test will be covered in this article, which lays the groundwork for aspirant candidates to start their road towards a successful CA career.

Eligibility Criteria for CA Foundation:

Candidates who have finished their 10+2 education from a recognized board are eligible to sit for the CA Foundation test, which is the first level of the CA exam. The following items are required for CA Foundation eligibility:

  • Educational Qualification: Candidates must have passed the 10+2 exam or a test from a recognized board that is comparable.
  • Registration: Before the deadline, candidates must register with the ICAI for the CA Foundation course.
  • Minimum Age: The CA Foundation exam has no set age requirement for participation. Candidates are free to register whenever they desire.

Eligibility Criteria for CA Intermediate:

Candidates may sit for the CA Intermediate test after passing the CA Foundation exam. The following are the requirements for CA Intermediate eligibility:

  • Educational Qualification: Candidates must have taken the CA Foundation test or possess a diploma from an accredited institution of higher learning.
  • Registration: Before the deadline, candidates must register with the ICAI for the CA Intermediate course.

Eligibility Criteria for CA Final:

The last and most difficult level of the CA test is the CA last exam. The following requirements must be met in order for applicants to be qualified to take the CA Final exam:

  • Completion of Articleship: Candidates must have finished their articleship training, which is a required practical training program for CA students, at least 2.5 years ago.
  • Passing CA Intermediate: Candidates must have passed the CA Intermediate test in both categories.
  • Registration: Before the deadline, candidates had to register with the ICAI for the CA Final course.

Other Requirements:

Candidates should be aware of the following extra requirements in addition to the educational and registration standards:

  • Compliance with Examination Norms: Candidates must follow the examination rules established by the ICAI, which include instructions on how to complete examination forms, pay fees, and fulfill other formal criteria.
  • Adherence to Timelines: To be eligible to take the tests, candidates must submit their exam forms within the allotted time frames.
  • Good Standing with the Institute: Candidates must follow the Code of Conduct for CA Students in order to retain good standing with the ICAI.


The requirements for taking the CA test guarantee that applicants possess the academic credentials and hands-on experience needed to successfully complete the demanding process of becoming a Chartered Accountant. The CA test requires commitment, tenacity, and a solid grounding in accounting and related fields. Candidates who want to improve their preparation could think about signing up for a thorough CA exam series like the “CA Test Series”. Such test series provide beneficial tools, sample examinations, and study materials to aid applicants in doing well on their exams.

Read More Here:

What is the Validity Period of the CA Course Registration

What are the Subjects Included in the CA Final Exam

What is the Duration of the CA Exam at Each Level

Are There Negative Markings in the CA Exam

What is the Registration Process for the CA Exam

How Many Mock Tests Are Included in a CA Final Test Series

What is the Purpose of the CA Final Test Series

Are Candidates Given Any Additional Support During the CA Final Test Series

Why Test Series are Best for CA Final Group 1

Why is it Preferable to Take the CA Exam Test Series More Than Once

Can You Explain the Format of the CA Exam Test Series

How Challenging are the Practice Exams in the CA Final Test series on Catestseries

How Many Mock Exams Make Up a CA Test Series in Catestseries

What are the Ethics and Behavior Guidelines for the CA Test Series Exam